> This page is for Docs.

> For clean Markdown of any page, append .md to the page URL.
> For a complete documentation index, see https://zuora.ferndocs.com/llms.txt.
> For AI client integration (Claude Code, Cursor, etc.), connect to the MCP server at https://zuora.ferndocs.com/_mcp/server.

# Create a workflow version

> Learn how to create a new workflow version.

Learn how to create a new workflow version.

You can create a new version for a workflow definition based on the active version or by using an imported JSON file. When you create and edit the new version, the active version and the existing API integration of the workflow can still work properly.

Open a workflow.

Click the **Versions** tab to open it.

Create a new version by using either of the following methods:

* At the upper right of the workflow details page, click the more icon, and then click **Create New Version**.
* On the **Versions** tab, click the plus icon at the upper right of the workflow version table, and then click **Create New Version**.

In the **New Workflow Version** window, create the new version through either of the following ways:

* Create a new version based on the active version: After the new version is created, the definition and settings of the active version are cloned to the new version by default. You can continue to edit the new version.

  1. On the **General** tab, enter a valid version number. The version number must be unique and in one of the following formats. The new version number must be greater than the existing highest version number.

     * `integer`
     * `integer.integer`
     * `integer.integer.integer.`
  2. (Optional) Enter any descriptions for this new version.
  3. Click **Create**.
* Create a new version by using an imported JSON file:

  1. On the **General** tab, enter a valid version number.
  2. (Optional) Enter any descriptions for this new version.
  3. On the **Import JSON** tab, paste the content of your JSON file or update the pre-loaded JSON file of the active version.
  4. Click **Create**.

The newly created workflow version will always be in the **Inactive** status. Set it to **Active** when you complete the configuration.